Gluten in red wine

Since gluten wheat protein may be used in fining, a process for clarifying wines, there may be miniscule amounts of gluten wheat protein left in the wines that can cause a reaction in the most sensitive of gluten intolerance sufferers. Gluten wheat protein is also used in some cases to seal the wooden barrels used to age the wine, and this could leach into the wines. There is currently no legal requirement for producers to label the wines with their potentially allergenic contaminants, although in Canada a new law is being brought in which will force producers to label wines accordingly. This comes into force in 2012.

Source: The Globe and Mail

July 2011.


Top of page

If you found this article interesting, you will find many more general articles and research reports on coeliac disease here, and lots of information on the management of coeliac disease here.
You can also find articles and research reports on gluten intolerance here and articles on a wide range of other digestive conditions here.

For hundreds of gluten free foods see our freefrom food section here, and for nearly 800 gluten-free recipes see here.

And if you would like to get our FREE fortnightly e-newsletter with new products, recipes, articles and all the latest news from the allergy and freefrom world, just sign up here.